What is this?
Opening a paper to comments creates a special page, called a session, like the one below. Your peers and colleagues can leave comments, either on the paper in general, or with line-specific annotations.
How do I start a feedback session for my draft?
Follow this step-by-step guide.
Who can see my session? Who can comment?
Anyone can see that you created a session. Some of your followers and qualified users can automatically join your session. Others will need to request access from you to be able to see the comments and contribute their feedback.
Note: Your mutual followers (those you follow and who also follow you back) can join your session without requesting access from you. Qualified users, such as professors and faculty can also join your session without requesting access. All others must be approved by you.
When someone joins your session, their followers may see a story about it in their newsfeed, which may prompt them to join as well.
Anyone with access to the session can leave a comment.
How can I extend my session?
If you click the Extend button, you will have the option to extend your session by 20 days.
How do I access my session?
You can access your session through the Sessions link along the top of the Academia.edu toolbar.
Here you'll see a list of ongoing sessions in which you are a participant. You can also find expired sessions under All Sessions.
What happened to the Create Session button?
You can no longer create sessions for papers that already exist on Academia. If you wish to create a session for a paper that is already uploaded to your profile, you will need to re-upload it and specify that it's a draft.
Can I remove a comment from the session?
If someone leaves an unpleasant comment, you have the option to remove it by clicking the X in the top right corner of the comment. You also then have the option of removing the participant from the session.
How do I delete a session?
Click on the cog in the top right corner, then click "Delete Session".
Note: This will not delete the draft from appearing on your profile. If you wish to remove the document entirely, you'll need to go to your profile and also delete the paper there.
What happens when my session is over?
When your session is over, you'll always be able to access the session and all its comments by going to your sessions page. However, the comments will not be visible to other users, and no further comments can be added.
What is this?
Article is closed for comments.