To remove your account, head to your Account Settings.
If you scroll down to the bottom of the page, you should see the red "delete account" button. Click it! Feel free to offer feedback on your Academia experience, if you'd like.
We'll then ask you to confirm. If you click confirm, your account should be deleted within 24 hours. Please wait up to 24 hours to contact us if you believe your account has not been deleted.
Please note that Academia.edu strives to respect their users' privacy. Hence, all information relevant to a deleted account will be removed from our database. We have no way of retrieving your lost information if you wish to restore your lost account.